reading

F is for Fan Fiction

Fan fiction is something I only started reading in the last few months. It’s actually Kind of fun.

I used to think fan fiction was derivative and people wrote them when they couldn’t think of their own characters. But I don’t think that’s true anymore.

It seems to me that people use them to explore story lines they wish had happened. Or scenes that the author left out. (I’ve imagined quite of a few those myself, but never actually wrote them down.) Sometimes I think people use them to explore what would happen if the character was different or if the world was different or both.

I think mostly people write to explore something they would like to see with the characters that didn’t happen. And, really, I have wished and pictured that same thing with TV shows/books/movies but just never wrote them down.

One of the most fascinating (to me, anyway) is this addition to the world someone came up with for Stargate: Atlantis, NCIS and I don’t even know how many others. The things that happen in Xanthe’s version couldn’t have happened in the show. Her additions couldn’t happen on any non-cable show and they are a stretch even on cable. But it is still pretty interesting. So, yeah.

33 thoughts on “F is for Fan Fiction

  1. I wrote a short fanfic for a writer friend of mine, just for grins. He liked it. But that’s the only one I’ve done. A niece reads it, or used to. Why not? Reading should be fun.

  2. I used to think the same. One of my good friends was really into fan fiction and I thought it was cute and geeky. It was only until I read it that I realised some people’s writing is actually pretty good, and the plots have such potential compared to the real stories. Thanks for this, I enjoyed the post

  3. Yeah, I’ve heard of some fan fic doing a good job at extending a continued story after the show ended or canceled. I’ve never looked into fan fiction, partly due to limited reading time that I’d rather spend reading original work. I suppose writing fan fiction may help the skills of capturing a different feel or characters based on the original source.

  4. I didn’t even know what fan-fiction was until I started writing. I only hope that I can create some characters one day that will be so lovable that people want to create more stories with them. 🙂

  5. Oh, the lure of living and giving life to characters! Fan-fic is a interesting genre of writing. I have seen fanfic for stories, for movies and many more for Korean serials.

    Have you read the book called Fangirl?

      1. I am a Desi who likes to watch Korean serials and movies.

        Fangirl is about a girl who writes fan fiction. It is a beautiful story. You should give it a try some time.

  6. Here from the A to Z list. 🙂 I have to hold my hand up to having written Star Trek fan fiction back in 1970 — I thought I was the only person in the world doing it! Now fanfic a HUGE thing and some of it is truly appalling but, as you say, there are authors whose work is as good as anything published by the Big Six. In fact some of them are published by the Big Six. I first came across Cassandra Clare, author of the Mortal Instruments series, by reading her Harry Potter fan fiction. I think fandom can be a really good training ground for novice writers.

  7. I’ve read a little fan fiction, and I love watching Stargate. I think there are so many styles and types of writing it’s good to try all sorts of reading.

  8. I tend not to read fan for fiction because it strays from the original story’s norm. But that’s just me. Its so big even Amazon has its own offering of fan fiction that they push. In spite of my liking or diliking, I think its brave for anyone to derive anything from a popular story. After all, its popular because people love it just the way it is.

  9. Many published authors start out writing fan fiction, myself included. I actually miss some of the freedom associated with fanfiction – the world building and everything is already done, so you can just explore it with the characters and even stick in some of your own. I always liked exploring side-stories, like you mentioned, where you wonder what might have happened outside what the author or tv show explored. I think it encourages people, especially younger ones, to give creative writing a try. Great post!

Say something and make my day!

