reading

R is for Reading

I love reading. Why, you ask? Well, I don’t know. I do know most books are better than movies and tv shows. Even the books that get turned into movies and tv shows.

A picture is supposed to be worth a thousand words, but you couldn’t prove it by me. Movies don’t have half the detail of a good novel.

If anyone says otherwise, it’s because they haven’t read the novel the movie was based on and don’t know half the details are missing. They don’t realize there is no way to put all or even most of the details of a 300-page novel into a 2 hour movie. I expect this; I may complain, but I am rarely disappointed by this.

Which is not to say I don’t enjoy them. I do. I like watching movies, 3D movies, normal movies, TV shows, documentaries. They are fun. I enjoy them immensely.

They just aren’t as fun as most novels. Lots of people don’t get that.

9 thoughts on “R is for Reading

  1. I really love to read as well, and the movies never do justice, but I am visual and love to see the movies of the books I read- like THE NOTEBOOK, what a great book and movie, right?

  2. I agree, reading is far better than watching a movie or TV show. I think reading is much more thought-provoking, and sometimes much more interesting than a picture. It’s especially annoying when said book gets turned into a TV show or movie and everybody loves it, yet they haven’t read the original novel so lots of details get lost in transition. Which is a shame, but like you said, I think we’ve all come to expect it now.

  3. Reading is a much more involved experience compared to watching a movie. You have to use your imagination to picture the scene, so in a way you have some creative ownership of the world you imagined.

    J.C. Martin
    A to Z Blogger

  4. You know Sonia I love both, take Game of Throne, adored the TV series and just loved the extra detail in the book – both were good and both were satisfying. But books do allow your imagination to create a visual of the author’s world where as movies spell it out for you, so books would always be my first choice 😉

  5. I can’t think of a single instance where a movie was better than the book : ) Thanks for visiting my blog today!

  6. I can’t think of a single instance where a movie was better than the book! Thanks for visiting my blog today…enjoy the rest of the weekend.

  7. I love books much more than movies, but a good movie is, well, really good! And few books translate well to the big screen. With the exception of Harry Potter, of course. 🙂

  8. Alice Sebold’s Lovely Games was an amazing novel, yet the movie was God Awful! It should be a criminal offense to ruin a book like that. On the same vein, I’ve been hesitant to see The Hunger Games because I figure the movie won’t be the book.

    Catch My Words
    http://joycelansky.blogspot.com

Say something and make my day!