General · Writing

J is for Joy

Joy is the reason I write. When it’s going well, it’s a high like nothing else. When it’s not going, well, nothing could be more frustrating. But I usually manage to find my zone afterward. It’s when all I am aware of is the character and the scene. I know what the character is feeling.… Continue reading J is for Joy

Book Review · General · reading · Writing

Book Review: Hit Lit: Cracking the Code of the Twentieth Century’s Biggest Bestsellers by James W. Hall

From Goodreads: DISCOVER THE SECRETS OF WHAT MAKES A MEGA-BESTSELLER IN THIS ENTERTAINING, REVELATORY GUIDE   What do Michael Corleone, Jack Ryan, and Scout Finch have in common? Creative writing professor and thriller writer James W. Hall knows. Now, in this entertaining, revelatory book, he reveals how bestsellers work, using twelve twentieth-century blockbusters as case… Continue reading Book Review: Hit Lit: Cracking the Code of the Twentieth Century’s Biggest Bestsellers by James W. Hall