reading · science fiction · Teaser Tuesdays

Readerly Teaser Tuesday

Today, for the first time, I have decided to post two lines from my current read. It is a bit of dialogue between the main character, Miles, and Bel, a hermaphrodite. It is from Diplomatic Immunity by Lois McMaster Bujold and it is my favorite of the Miles Vor books.

This power business has proved a lot stranger than I anticipated. You’d think more power would bring one more freedom, but I’ve found it’s brought me less. Every word that comes out of my mouth has this weight that it never had before, when I was babbling Mad Miles, hustler of the Dendarii.

 

 

Teaser Tuesdays · Writing

Writerly Teaser Tuesday: December 21 210

I would post the third scene today for Teaser Tuesday, but it is not fit to be seen by any eyes other than mine. And I am not editing until I am done so . . . The first two not were not edited, either, but they are not so terrible I was ashamed to let people see them. This third scene? I am.

So instead I did 100 word flash thing. I don’t do flash well, so I figured it would be a good exercise anyway.

This is the pic I used for inspiration. Naturally, it is from deviantart, by someone called YannosGATO. I like the mood of the picture, the buildings, the color, all that. I added some stuff, of course.

So here it is:

Under my leather jacket, I was freezing. The wind flung snow around like icy shards. It was going to be a white Christmas. I’d been ploughed in too many times to be happy.

I paused at the cross walk. Across the street, Adrian slouched against the subway wall.

Joy shot through me. Then I was running, past honking horns, straight into his arms. His lips were cold, but his laughter was warm in my ears.

All of a sudden, I didn’t care about shoveling.

I looked into his eyes. “You’re back.”

“Got an earlier flight. I wanted to be with you.”