reading

F is for Fan Girl

I am a fan. I am a fan of lots of things – Beyonce, The Gates, Spiderman. Nail Polish.

But I only go fan-girl crazy for some books, some characters. You know. When you countdown to the release date, read all the excerpts, all the snippets, and then get it the day it comes out? (Or when the library gets it when pockets are lean.)

Than, you spend all night reading and are completely, utterly exhausted in the morning because you got no sleep. Also, you cannot wait for next year, because the book was so short you finished it in one reading.

So you reread and reread, over and over again for at least a week. Maybe more.

Yeah, there are books I like that way. There aren’t that many, maybe have a dozen. In no particular order, they include:

  1. Cut & Run series by Abigail Roux
  2. Black Jewel series by Anne Bishop
  3. Vorkosigan series by Lois McMaster Bujold
  4. In Death series by JD Robb aka Nora Roberts
  5. Mercy Thompson series by  Patricia Briggs
  6. World of the Lupi series by Eileen Wilks

What do you go fan-girl over?

12 thoughts on “F is for Fan Girl

  1. Well, I don’t “fan-girl” over much, at least not in my current gender identity. It’s funny to compare this sense of fan-girl over how derisive “fanboy” is in my social circles. Regardless, the last fiction to drive me absolutely rabid was Middlemarch, because it dove so deep into the social experience.

  2. I’m not really a “fan-girl” either, but I do anxiously await a new book by several favorite mystery authors: Laura Lippman, Terry Odell, Dennis Lehane, Harlan Coben, Lee Child, and a few more. (smile) I might turn into a “fan-girl” if I was ever to meet Brad Pitt in person. LOL

  3. I’m a fan girl for sci-fi — books, movies, and TV. The book Snow Crash comes to mind, any sci-fi on BBC America, and Star Trek, Star Wars, etc — the classics of sci-fi movies.

  4. I see you found something for F. =) I was that way for the Harry Potter books but not until the second or third book was out (I didn’t know about them before then). Mostly I try not to read series books unless all the books are out. I believe all the books for Twilight were out when I read them. I will literally go from one book to the next until they are all read. I have read most of Nora Roberts series that way but no I haven’t started on her J.D. Robb series’ yet.

  5. I go fan-girlie over Christopher Moore (of “Lamb” fame), Jasper Fforde (The Tuesday Next and Nursery Crimes books), and MaryJanice Davidson’s “Unwed” series, to name a few. 🙂

  6. I can’t think of too much I go fan-girl over. My wife has her favorite authors that she reads as soon as they publish, but I tend to jump from book to book without any apparent reasoning. The same is true for me with movies and television, but totally doesn’t apply to sports.

    The only author that I can think of where I read everything I can find is Dostoevsky.

  7. I am not much of a fan-girl, but it just irritates me when the second or third part of a series have to released aftr one year and esp when the author decides to end the previous one with no proper finishing but as if it’s just a torn portion of a big story.

    Thanks for stopping by my space. 🙂

  8. I am fan-girl for all of James Patterson’s books. And my friends’ books. I could easily get lost in this train of thought, I realized! 😀 Thanks for coming over to my place!

    Vidya http://vidyasury.com #AtoZChallenge participant

Say something and make my day!