reading

P is for Pulitzer 2013

The Pulitzer prize was announced recently and this time they awarded a prize for fiction. Last year, they did not.

They chose The Orphan Master’s Son by Adam Johnson. It sounds more exciting than the book they chose in 2011. I remember reading an excerpt and thinking: I don’t want to read more.

The Orphan Master’s Son excerpt and summary is different. It sounds like it has a lot of adventure and excitement and interesting – all the things I like in a novel. Wondering if I should try it out.

But maybe the main character isn’t someone I would like. I don’t know. I still haven’t managed to finish the first A Song of Ice and Fire. So I don’t know and I am still trying to decide.

Also, this is a Pulitzer novel, so maybe it won’t really be as exciting as it sounds. Could turn out to be a dull bore.

7 thoughts on “P is for Pulitzer 2013

  1. I might try that. I LOVED Song of Ice and Fire though, couldn’t get through it fast enough, and I might re-read it.

  2. I tend to read books more after reading several reviews or after I get to know the author not so much because of an award, so I would probably have to do a little more research on the book.

  3. Well, you can always set it down if it’s boring. Never hurts to try out a new book. You can do all the research in the world, and still hate it after everyone says they love it … and vice versa 🙂

    #atozchallenge, Kristen’s blog: kristenhead.blogspot.com

Say something and make my day!