fantasy · General

M is for Magic

Magic is the thing I like best in books, especially in fantasy. The Sorcerer’s Apprentice with Micky Mouse and Sword in the Stone were probably the first fantasy I ever watched.

I loved Sword in the Stone and watched it over and over again.

These movies have no rules – not that I remember! – not like the rules of magic I countered in later books. But I love them anyway.

This is The Sorcerer’s Apprentice on YouTube:

I think, despite how old they both are, these two movies are still as good as when they were first made. And The Sorcerer’s Apprentice was first made in 1940 and The Sword in the Stone in 1963.

18 thoughts on “M is for Magic

  1. The sorcerer and the apprentice is one of my favourite parts of Fantasia, I love the magic but also how creepy it is with the brooms multiplying and coming back to life.

    And likewise the sword in the stone is a great cartoon. I recently read the full set of Arthurian legends, they were fantastic!

  2. My favorite genre, by far, and the reason I write in it. It’s limitless, as long as you can explain it in a semi-believable way.
    I haven’t watched Fantasia since I was a child and I’m not sure I even remember all the different parts to it.
    I love Sword in the Stone and have shown it to my kiddo who loves it as well.

  3. I’m a big fantasy fan, but I’ve always found The Sorcerer’s Apprentice to be pretty boring. I much preferred Fantasia’s rendition of the Pastoral Symphony with all the creatures of Greek Mythology.

  4. Fantasia is a classic! Just goes to show you shouldn;t mess with things you don’t understand.

    Stephen Tremp
    A to Z Cohost
    M is for Movies

  5. Sword in the Stone was one of the few Disney movies we didn’t own, but The Magician’s Apprentice I loved watching. Again and again and again as a child.

Say something and make my day!

