reading

what should i read next?

whatshouldireadnext.com is a website where you type in a book title or author and it gives book recommendations based on it.  

I typed in: Ancillary Justice.

The first ten it gave me:

  1. Jacqueline Carey – Dark Currents: MURDER–INVESTIGATION / POLICE
  2. Ann Aguirre – Perdition: MERCENARY TROOPS / PRISONERS / SURVIVAL / CRIMINALS
  3. Rachel Caine – Working Stiff: ZOMBIES / FUNERAL HOMES / PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRY / PARANORMAL FICTION / UNDERTAKERS AND UNDERTAKING / SUPERNATURAL / SUSPENSE FICTION
  4. James Blish – A Case of Conscience (Del Rey Impact): MANICHAEISM / ETHICS / LIFE ON OTHER PLANETS / FAITH AND REASON / RELIGION AND SCIENCE / CONSCIENCE–RELIGIOUS ASPECTS / SCIENCE FICTION, AMERICAN
  5. Ben Aaronovitch – Whispers Under Ground: ENGLAND–LONDON / MAGIC / MURDER / SUBWAYS / WIZARDS / GRANT, PETER (FICTITIOUS CHARACTER) / FICTION / DETECTIVE AND MYSTERY STORIES
  6. William Olaf Stapledon – Odd John and Sirius: SCIENCE FICTION, ENGLISH / EVOLUTION (BIOLOGY) / MUTATION (BIOLOGY) / GIFTED PERSONS
  7. Colette – The Complete Claudine: Claudine at School, Claudine in Paris, Claudine Married, Claudine and Annie: COLETTE, 1873-1954 / AUTOBIOGRAPHICAL FICTION, FRENCH / GIRLS / MANNERS AND CUSTOMS / YOUNG WOMEN / FRANCE / SOCIAL LIFE AND CUSTOMS / TRANSLATIONS INTO ENGLISH
  8. Richard Kadrey – Kill City Blues
  9. Ben Aaronovitch – Rivers of London: POLICE / WIZARDS / SUPERNATURAL / PARANORMAL FICTION / FANTASY FICTION
  10.  T A Pratt – Poison Sleep (Marla Mason, Book 2): MAGIC / WIZARDS / PSYCHICS

I imagine the things in capital letters are what these books have in common with Ancillary Justice. Some of them anyway. Ancillary Justice cannot be AUTOBIOGRAPHICAL FICTION. Kill City Blues apparently has nothing in common with Ancillary Justice . . .

There are several books here I’ve never heard of: A Case of Conscience, Odd John and Sirius and Colette – The Complete Claudine.

I don’t think Colette – The Complete Claudine is even science fiction or fantasy or paranormal in any way. It probably doesn’t include ships and AI. I am not at all it is interesting. Why did whatshouldireadnext.com cough up this title?

A lot of the others look like fantasy and look at least a little interesting.

The best thing about it – the reason why it works! – is that I’ve never read any of them before.

4 thoughts on “what should i read next?

  1. Quite interesting, Like you I got a few that didn’t make sense. I put in Raymond E Feist’s Magician and one of the results was a Miss Marple book by Agatha Christie. But I knew a few of the other books it suggested and they seemed alright.

    I imagine I’ll spend some time playing with this but I should be working on NaNo though…

Say something and make my day!