flash friday · Writing

C is for Creation

I decided to write a Friday flash with a title that starts with C, because of the A to Z challenge. This is what resulted.

 

Rain drizzled down, a steady, punishing stream of water.  

It wound down the body of the stone statue, past its blind eyes and dripped on ground already soaked with rain.

And me? It left me dry. My sister didn’t dare touch me, even here, far from land and age of our power. She still stayed clear of me, left me in a circle as dry as the sands of our birth.

Well, she would not touch her either. This rain wasn’t true, as fake as the rosy color on her cheeks. She wasn’t grieving. How could she? She had done this, shoved my beloved into a deep ditch and poured water she couldn’t breathe.

I brushed my fingers across the statue’s damp eyes. They were large in life, one brown and one blue, and so beautiful.

I would deepen my sister’s oceans until she thought she was winning; I would dry up her rivers and lakes; I would turn her land into the sands for our family’s graveyard.

And I would start here, on this island.

15 thoughts on “C is for Creation

  1. Nice build up here, Sonia. I loved the resolve and power in her statements at the end. I would love to hear more of their story.

Say something and make my day!

