flash friday · Writing

Friday Flash: Moving On

I pushed aside the canary yellow silk curtains and looked out over the city through clear modern panes of the balcony doors.

My balcony was made of black, wrought iron, like every other balcony in this city, decorated with fanciful shapes of flowers and butterflies.

Beyond the edges of my apartment, steel and brass towers speared into the sky. They were silver and dun gold, like drops of metal fallen from the sky. On the eastern shores of the island, barely visible from here, were several equally tall and massive trees. Some sported hundreds of flowers; others had only plain dark green leaves; and one bristled with sharp, piney needles.

Hotels, businesses and homes, they housed the most powerful covens to claim a place in this city. Less powerful ones contented themselves with steel and bone-wood homes.

My permanent home, now. Somewhere in the teeming mass of people was my soul-bonded. He wouldn’t welcome me, that I knew. I’d betrayed him. My fingers tightened on the cool silk curtains.

It hardly mattered that the betrayal wasn’t what he thought. I didn’t deserve his forgiveness.

The balcony door panes blurred with water droplets. I glanced up at the sky. Still a clear, hard blue.

I jerked the curtains shut. I didn’t need to see this, didn’t need to think about this. There were other things in my life, now.

27 thoughts on “Friday Flash: Moving On

  1. I really liked the description, how the buildings were like drops of fallen metal. So many unanswered questions too. Will there be more?

  2. I loved all the descriptions in this piece Sonia, you managed to take us right there in the room with her. Now I’m wondering what the betrayal was….. so intriguing.

  3. Great job of pulling me in. I like the way that her pulling the curtains closed signaled the end of the piece and left me with so many questions. Good one, Sonia!

Say something and make my day!

