General · science fiction

Books that you Read because of the Movie

Have you ever seen a movie and then decided to read the book the movie is based on?

Sometimes the movie is so fantastic and you just know the book has to be better! I mean, the book is almost always better. How could it be otherwise? Books have more detail, and more room for all the things that make a story good: character, plot, sorder.

Some movies like that for me include:

1. Interview With A Vampire
I saw Interview With A Vampire on TV and loved it! I found the book in the library and took it out soon after. I loved it, too. They weren’t the same, but they were close and I really liked it, too.

2. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone
Um . . . Yeah, I started reading the books after the first movie came out. Not sure how I missed them before that. But I’m glad I did, because later on, in future books, I understood things they never explained in the movies.

3. Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief

The Lightning Thief wasn’t as awesome as the first Harry Potter movie, but it was still exciting and made me all excited to go find out what really happened. Which I did and really liked.

4. The Bourne Identity
I love love |ove all the Bourne movies! But the book was a disappointment. It was just so dated! And it did not age well! IMHO

I want to read the first James Bond book, but I haven’t managed it yet. I will someday!

17 thoughts on “Books that you Read because of the Movie

  1. The Poseidon Adventure by Paul Gallico (better than the movie)

    Deliverance by James Dickey (almost the same as the movie)

    Invasion of the Body Snatchers by Jack Finney (both are darn good for different reasons)

    The Great Gatsy by F. Scott Fitzgerald (the book was a far more fulfilling experience).

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  2. There are very few films that I prefer to the books but some adaptions do a better job of getting the author’s intentions over than others. I particularly like Atonement by Ian McEwan although I’d read the book first 🙂

  3. I never want to read the book of a movie I’ve seen and I never want to see the movie of a book I read. If I get a picture in my head of a character I don’t enjoy the book or movie if the character is different than my first impression.

    1. I used to be like that, but I decided a character doesn’t have to be look like what I imagine. Since, you know, no one could compete with my imagination!!

  4. The only movie I can think of that made me read a book is ‘The Hunger Games’. I normally read the books and skip the movies 🙂

  5. You may find the Bond novels VERY different from the films, especially as you get later into the series and the movies borrow the title and very little else from the original novel.

    The Fleming novels can be hit or miss. They’re interesting and I’ve read quite a few of them.

  6. If I liked a movie enough and there is a book for it sometimes I’ll read it. Like I read the book for Pacific Rim, and I’m interested in picking up Jurassic Park after seeing the movie again.

Say something and make my day!

