General

Teaser Tuesday: Heritage of Cyador

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser:

As he half fills the beaker, he replies, “I don’t seek risks. I try to do only what is necessary.”

“That can be the greatest risk of all.”

– Heritage of Cyador  by L. E. Modesitt

18 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday: Heritage of Cyador

  1. Hi Sonia,

    I have to admit that science fiction and fantasy are not two of my favourite genres. Sci-Fi, I simply don’t understand at all and probably wouldn’t ever bother reading. However, I have read and quite enjoyed one or two fantasy novels, since I began blogging and accepting review requests.

    I am not certain that I would want to become embroiled in a fantasy series some 18 books long, although I can appreciate the quality of the lines you chose to tease us with this week. Doing what is necessary in any given situation, may be the most dangerous option, despite our best efforts. The decision to do what is necessary, should always be balanced against the risks involved!

    Thanks for sharing and enjoy the rest of the week ‘Happy Thanksgiving’

    Yvonne.

    1. In Recluce series defense, most of the books can be read without reading previous books. He switches up the time, characters and country all the time. And, yeah, they are all in the same series The one before this, Cyador’s Heirs, introduces this particular main character. So it’s not bad as all that.

      I am not really sure what’s not to understand about Sci-Fi. They are no weirder than the fantasy books.

      1. Hi Sonia,

        It is always good when a series, particularly a quite lengthy one, can be enjoyed as individual books, which stand up to scrutiny well on their own merits.

        I am notoriously bad at dipping in and out of a series, especially when reading my favourite genres of murder/mystery, or suspense/thrillers.

        I don’t really know why, but I am not even a fan of Sci-Fi films or television series. Perhaps I used the wrong words when I commented that I don’t understand this particular genre. I think it is purely and simply that I don’t enjoy it, which may be somewhat unfair, as to be honest I have never really had the urge to try it!

        Fantasy books in general come into the same category as Sci-Fi, although the couple I have committed to reading, have been quite enjoyable. Neither are genres I would actively seek out on the shelves at the bookshop however.

        I was quite pleased to see that you seem to have fairly ecelectic tastes in your reading and there are several books on your Goodreads shelf that we have a common interest in.

        🙂 Yvonne.

  2. My head is too slow to say something witty about that teaser, so all I’ll say is great pick! Thanks for stopping by! Happy reading!

Say something and make my day!

