work in progress · Writing

Middle Book Blues

I haven’t written a word in nearly two weeks. The book is half done. 

I have heard that the middle of the book is the hardest bit to write, the most common place to get stuck. How do I get out of it?

I have some idea what the next biggest scene will be. I even have some idea what my character needs to do – he has a to do list! And he’s sorely behind in the list of the things he needs to do. (He was derailed by the plot bunny!) Poor guy.

But I don’t know the next immediate step. I don’t know how he gets from here to the next biggest scene and he can’t just skip from here to there. I don’t even know how he gets from here to the next thing on his to do list.

I’m stuck and it’s unpleasant. Very, very unpleasant.

 

8 thoughts on “Middle Book Blues

  1. I’m sorry to hear you’re stuck. I will wish for inspiration to strike you, so that you can run up those next few steps! All the best to you, Sonia. 🙂

  2. Best wishes to get unstuck soon. Try not to get hung up on perfection like Dorothy Parker until you’re editing. ;0) Seriously though, best wishes and good energy to you.

  3. If it helps, we all go through this (I did too, with both drafts of my WIP), even those who write bestsellers.

    I went to a talk by John Conolly and he talked about the 40,000 word hump. Those who plodded through it, he said, made it. 🙂 Just keep at it.

Say something and make my day!

