General

How did you know you want to be a writer?

I saw this article on BuzzFeed: 24 Signs You’re A Writer.  It’s  fun.

And than I saw this Opera article entitled: How to Know If You’re Really a Writer.

It basically lists how several people knew they were writers. They are:

1) Look inward to discover your issues.

2) Dictate stories.

3) Discovered “Just the Kind of Book” you want to write.

4) Someone tells you you’re a writer.

5) Job trains you in how to tell a story.

Um . . .  I’ve never been through any of these.

I knew I want to be writer because I want to tell stories. In Writing. That doesn’t feel as lofty as those reasons listed above. 😉 It sounds almost pedantic.

How did you know you want to be a writer?

 

14 thoughts on “How did you know you want to be a writer?

  1. I’m like you, Sonia. I can’t remember a time when I didn’t love stories – reading them and telling them. So of course I wanted to write them down. I had a wonderful first grade teacher, Mrs. Schultz, who encouraged me to share my stories. I didn’t like talking in front of other people, but she convinced me to read my story “The Bunny and the Bear” to both of the first grade classes in my school. And the rest is history. 😉

  2. I knew I wanted to be a writer in high school. Writing was about the only fun I had back then, and it’s still my preferred form of entertainment. I like telling stories, and exploring made up worlds and made up people. If I can turn that into a career–doing what makes me happy–then why not?

  3. I’ve been creating imaginary worlds in my head since I was little, my mom says. Filled with imaginary people and adventure. This transitioned to writing. I remember in grade school, I won several writing competitions and got to be “published” in a book of short stories for my school district. I’ve been writing stories and novels for fun since I was about 12. I just love doing it. I have characters and stories in my head that I have to get out. The more I write, the better I get. The more I trust others to read and help me write, I get even better. I write because I love! Totally checking out that buzzfeed article. Thanks!

  4. I loved to write and create my own worlds that I wasn’t finding in other avenues. Sometimes I get ideas from pictures or from hearing phrases. It’s relaxing for me.

Say something and make my day!

