General

M is for Myth

M_LeMannequinI loved myths as a child.

I devoured Roman/Greek myths in grade school. (Of course they were the only myths we learned in class.) Later, I discovered Norse myths and Celtic myths and Native American myths. I tried Egyptian myths, too, but they just confused me.

Actually, I think I stopped reading myths because of that confusion. It seemed to each god had ten different names and I couldn’t tell who was talking to whom.photo-main

They were a balm when I couldn’t read my usual mysteries and children’s horror.

I turned to them when I needed to create myths for my own world. I love the loki stories, the coyote stories. And, also, the turtle and elephant stories.

That’s not to say they feature prominently in my own world. But it’s a jumping off point, you know?

15 thoughts on “M is for Myth

  1. I used to love reading Greek myths when I was a kid and then got into other myths when I got older. Always good to know them for reference!

  2. I loved Greek myths at school and just read a book of Norse myths. I know what you mean about gods with lots of names – Odin has more names than there are myths! But I love to read book based on mythology, so it’s nice to see what the originals were and how authors reinterpreted them.

Say something and make my day!

