General · reading

K is for Kinky

Kinky is my K word-and I don’t mean hair.

I don’t talk about these books much. They are not a guilty pleasure; I don’t feel guilty. But some people act oddly around them.

I mean books where all kinds of erotic things happen – things involving handcuffs, rope and other adult toys.

I got into this genre almost by accident. The first book I read was the first Sleeping Beauty book by Anne Rice in high school. I didn’t like it and I couldn’t finish it. I still don’t. I think it crosses the safe, sane and consensual line. Especially the consensual line.

I was a member of LKH’s forum at the same time and someone recommended a book by Joey w. Hill called Natural Law. I looked it up, I read reviews -and than found it in the library.

I haven’t looked back.

Natural Law is an early work. But it is nothing like Sleeping Beauty. Nothing! I was wonderfully pleased.

Joey W. Hill is one of my favorite authors these days. Her writing has only become better over the years -hotter, more intense. I only wish I could write with such intensity.

I have found other writers I like – Kim Dare, Chris Owens.

I haven’t read Shades of Gray , but, for reasons I don’t entirely understand myself, I am not really tempted to. It’s not the subject material. I think I’ll dislike it as much I disliked Twilight.

Do you read kinky romances? How did you discover them?

24 thoughts on “K is for Kinky

    1. Well, if you ever want to try out the above the authors, Kim Dare has a few short free stories up. Joey W. Hill is more intense, but she also has a few free short stories up. I personal favorite of all her work Rough Canvas and Vampire Trinity comes a close second.

  1. I don’t read them, even though I write about sex a fair bit, but mine is more the desultory side of it rather than the romantic or erotic. A sort of anti-erotica. I did read a book by Alexander Trocchi (a contemporary of William Burroughs) called “Thongs” in the British Library cos it was out of print. Because of its content I had to read it in a special room right under the nose of the librarian’s desk and I wasn’t allowed to take in any pens, only pencils!

  2. I read the first shades book and that was it. I had to see what all the fuss was about. My wife loved them , I however thought her writing was horrible.

  3. I’m not anti-kinky romance, but I’ve read a few that seem to be written purely for shock value and I find that really off-putting. But I have read some good ones, though! 😀

  4. I read bits and pieces from the first Sleeping Beauty book by Anne Rice when I was in high school too and I couldn’t make it through the whole novel. I’m one to erotica and have read a few erotic books, but it’s not my favorite genre.

  5. tee-hee. You hit several points square on the head. I think I’ve found a new blog to stalk. I’ve read some seriously kinky stuff, though sharing an amazon kindle account with hubby can sometimes keep me from reading books I might otherwise do, if the cover or title are blatantly “This is kinky, smexy and borderline Taboo smutastic” He’s not a prude by any means… but not sure I want to be giving him any ideas >_>

  6. I have not read any. 50 Shades doesn’t interest me, but more because I heard from many that it was poorly written, as opposed to the nature of the story.

  7. What a great choice for K, Sonia. I don’t think I’ve read anything that fits that genre, but only because I’ve never had any recommended. Now, I have some recommendations so I don’t have that excuse any more. 🙂

    My current WIP is something between a romance and mainstream fiction – but it’s definitely not even close to the kinky end of the spectrum. 🙂

Say something and make my day!

