reading

A is for Adventure

My first A is For post for the A to Z challenge! Yes!

Pretty much all of the stories I read/watch can be described as adventure stories. This includes, especially in books, romance , fantasy, science fiction and mystery. There’s lots of murder and mayhem and packed with action.

(Yes, I avoid all the sweet, sentimental romances in favor of the ones where the heroine kills the evil villain who wants to take over the world. Or where he is setting buildings on fire or killing all the women who remind him of his mother.)

Adventure stories don’t exist as a category. Or in any case I don’t see it in libraries or bookstores. I think it may have once a long time ago. Maybe it still exists in children’s fiction; I don’t know.

But, oddly, I am more willing to tolerate lack of action in movies/TV than in books. I mean, shows like I Love Lucy, The Addams Family and Dennis the Menace. Yes, yes, just lately I’ve been watching the classics. They are good, funny and filled with all sorts of mishaps. But I suspect I would get tired of them in full length novels pretty quickly.

Is that odd?

24 thoughts on “A is for Adventure

  1. I don’t think you’re odd, at all. I love adventure stories, particularly fantasy adventure with strong heroines, but I can still appreciate other things, like movies based on Jane Austen novels.

    1. Not odd! I love adventure stories, sounds like a lot of us do. But to add something different to this conversation if I may, there are some writers who can make the internal, brain stuff “high action” in the emotional and linguistic realm. Nice A post!

  2. Nothing odd about liking a lot of action in a book. I enjoy reading thrillers (e.g. Nelson DeMille, Dan Brown) and typically finish them faster than other genres. I agree with your sentiment about tv shows. Sitcoms would make for a tedious read as a full length novel. 🙂

  3. I think you’re right that a series of gags and simple conflict of a classic comedy is not enough to pull a reader through a novel. I don’t mind if the adventure and conflict is inner rather than outer in a book, however. I do like an outer conflict to pull me along through the fictional world, but it’s the character’s inner struggle with it all that keeps me riveted. A burning building without something or someone in it that the character needs to save is pretty dull too, I think.

  4. I agree with you about sooky romance, I’d much rather have a swash buckling pirate romance on the high sees anyway! ^_^ I think to keep one interested in a story especially a written one it must have a good mix of action/adventure along with snippets of background and character building.

    There’s nothing like a good adventure story to get the old imagination working!

  5. No, I don’t think it’s odd at all–but it’s interesting. I love I Love Lucy (or did, back in its day), but I don’t think I could read more than a chapter of it if it was a full-length novel. Perhaps the magic of shows like that is the short-span storytelling? In a half hour, conflict, escalation, and resolution, all tidy and nicely packaged. But a longer work needs more conflict, more escalation, in both the micro and macro scales. That’s hard to achieve with Lucy-type characters or storylines.

    Interesting. Very interesting.
    Guilie @ Quiet Laughter

Say something and make my day!

