General

Stop Reading an Author Because of Annoying Language?

A couple weeks ago I read some books in the same series one after the other. They didn’t all have the same main character, but they were all by the same author. They all took place in the same world, just centuries apart.

And they sounded the same. The main characters, despite being born centuries apart, born in different circumstances, different social classes, spoke the same way. They were prone to the overuse of the same word. Not just in description, but in the actual dialogue.

It was annoying. So very, very annoying.

And, then, curious, I read through excerpts of another, older series by same author. And you know? The main character used the same words in dialogue and description.

It’s not just one word they used over and over again, but a whole host of words.

I have no words for annoyed I was. I mean, I don’t usually care if authors epically like the same word. That’s inevitable. (Mercedes Lackey is particular fond of the phrase “perfectly ordinary”; LKH especially likes the word “spill” to describe things.) It doesn’t usually bother me. At least, not a lot.

There was just so much of it in this series. I still like the series; I still like the characters; I will probably not stop reading this author entirely. (Would you stop reading an author because of annoying language?)

But this is a sign that I shouldn’t read too many of the author’s work back to back. It just annoys me. Maybe one book a year.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Stop Reading an Author Because of Annoying Language?

  1. I get annoyed when authors use the “F” word and cuss words. If it becomes a pattern as I’m reading the book, I just throw it in the trash and never read that author again.

    1. Gratuitous curse words, yeah, those are annoying. Though I’ve usually stopped reading a book because of it. I might not pick up another book by that author again, though.

  2. I will (and have) put down books for annoying language, but ONLY if the characters/plot haven’t drawn me in.
    The worst offenders for me are usually sci-fi or high fantasy books that start with things like, “1000 years before the frub-jubbs ran the doubleys,” and, “The Jojos of yore must needs to bobo their bajo-bajos.”
    I guess overloaded made-up language turns me off.

  3. It depends on the author and what words. Like Gigi Ann said, too many swears turn me off. They also have to be so natural that they don’t stick out like a sore thumb. I once read a book where you could tell that the author was dropping cuss words for effect. I won’t pay money to read that author again. But then I read Alison Arngrim’s memoir, Confessions of a Prairie Bitch. Yes, she used the occasional cuss word, but it was natural to how she spoke and didn’t stand out. I loved her book despite the swearing.

    If all the characters sounded the same, like in your case, I doubt I would keep reading that author. I’ve even stopped reading authors whose books had plots so similar that it was almost like reading the same book over and again.

    Thanks for visiting The Book Connection.

Say something and make my day!

