fantasy · Short Story · Writing

You know you’ve been reading too much romance when . . .

You know you’ve been reading too much romance when that that fairy fantasy short story you are trying to write keeps trying to turn into a romance. A paranormal romance, complete with sidhe princes, sidhe court politics and star-crossed lovers. Very Romeo-and-Juliet, except for the tragic death thing.

Not that I dislike paranormal romances. I love them. Too much, as it is clearly taking over my own writing.
image

Clearly, I need to read more fantasy. Not just urban fantasy, but the more traditional fantasy. Even if they are a little thin on the ground these days.

I meant to write a fantasy short story. Not a romance one. Anyone, I’ve only ever read romance short stories in anthologies.

I can’t remember the last time a character insisted on chasing another character instead of the magic, slave-ending object. Really!

I feel like shelving these two fairy princes and starting over. I want a fairy prince who won’t insist on finding the love of his life immediately.

Willful characters. Who needs them? that that fairy fantasy short story you are trying to write keeps trying to turn into a romance. A paranormal romance, complete with sidhe princes, sidhe court politics and star-crossed lovers. Very Romeo-and-Juliet, except for the tragic death thing.

Not that I dislike paranormal romances. I love them. Too much, as it is clearly taking over my own writing.

Clearly, I need to read more fantasy. Not just urban fantasy, but the more traditional fantasy. Even if they are a little thin on the ground these days.

I meant to write a fantasy short story. Not a romance one. Anyone, I’ve only ever read romance short stories in anthologies.

I can’t remember the last time a character insisted on chasing another character instead of the magic, slave-ending object. Really!

I feel like shelving these two fairy princes and starting over. I want a fairy prince who won’t insist on finding the love of his life immediately.

Willful characters. Who needs them?

 

6 thoughts on “You know you’ve been reading too much romance when . . .

  1. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with a little bit of romance – unless your willful character has completely decided to abandon his quest to pursue Mrs. Right?

Say something and make my day!

