General · work in progress · Writing

Words Lost and Then Chopped

A few weeks back, I had a program crash. It was quiet, quick and quite painful. I lost thousands of words, about two weeks’ worth. I know, I know, you are supposed to back up. I do, I did, but not for the past two weeks. I thought there would be time for that later. (Otherwise I would have lost more than two weeks!)

I remember what I wrote. But not the exact words, the exact phrase, the details I used. So I couldn’t recreate it exactly the same. But I have finished recreating it and it is mostly the same. I think. I don’t believe I left anything out.

But it is shorter! I lost words along the way, but I don’t think I lost any details. I rearranged the scenes, yes, couldn’t help myself. I also did not have written a few pages worth of dialogue – dialogue I would deleted later anyway. (I realized a few scenes afterward that the dialogue wasn’t necessary.)

But it was only a few pages. I am astonished at how shorter the whole thing is now. It’s like I only recreated ¾ of the work I lost. It’s a puzzling.

One thought on “Words Lost and Then Chopped

  1. Some things are meant to be.

    Hi,
    I’m reaching out to you on behalf of Scooze. We’re a New Delhi based startup and are building an online community where people come together to help each other across various areas such as Books, Food & Nightlife, Gadgets, Parenting, Education, etc. At Scooze, our goal is to make it easy for anybody who’s looking for help to connect with and get recommendations from a ‘gang’ of the right peers and experts. 
    I’d love to invite you to join the Books Gang on Scooze. A lot of people can benefit immensely from your knowledge and recommendations. We’d be overjoyed if you could try out Scooze and ‘join the gang’ at http://www.scooze.com/interest_areas/books/ask_for_help.
    Also, we’d also love to showcase you on Scooze and our Facebook Page as one of the esteemed expert members of the Books Gang on Scooze. Do let me know if you think this is okay. Our Facebook Page is http://www.facebook.com/scoozechoose.
    I look forward to your response.
    Thank you.
    Regards,
    Sahiba
    Team Scooze

Say something and make my day!

