reading · Teaser Tuesdays

Teaser Tuesday: To Kill A Mockingbird

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

I am reading To Kill A Mockingbird for the very first time in honor of Banned Book Week. My teaser:

I was bored, so I began a letter to Dill. Miss Caroline caught me writing and told me to tell my father to stop teaching me. “Besides,” she said. “We don’t write in the first grade, we print. You won’t learn to write until you’re in the third grade.”

– To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

29 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday: To Kill A Mockingbird

  1. I loved this book, too, and I only read it for the first time last year. Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

    I like your new theme here. I like to change up my themes as well.

  2. This was literally the first ever book that I read (actually finished). My Mentor, Prof. R.K. Kaul gifted his copy to me and said, “I bet no one can stop reading this book, till finished.” So true!
    Thanks for sharing this again.

  3. Hi Sonia,

    Do you know, I have never read this book!! I was intrigued by your teaser lines enough to check out the full synopsis and this is definitely now on my reading list, as a must read.

    I can see how the book will stir the emotions and provoke debate and can see why so may of you seem to have read it for school exams.

    Thanks for sharing both the lines and those amazing covers, I think that the bottom right is my favourite.

    Yvonne

  4. I haven’t read this one yet. Wow, I was surprised how many book cover versions it has. Enjoy the book and thanks for visiting. 😀

  5. Love it! This happened to my sister when we moved schools when she was going into the 2nd grade. She already knew how to write in cursive and they made her stop since they hadn’t learned that yet. I think her handwriting really suffered because of it! 😦 The audio book is really good too – narrated by Sissy Spacek.

    Here’s my teaser.

  6. So many different covers! To Kill a Mockingbird was on my school reading list, I didn’t really like it but it wasn’t the worst book I’ve ever read. 😛

Say something and make my day!

