General · reading

Banned Books Week 2012

Banned books week starts tomorrow, September 30 2012. It ends next Saturday on October 6, 2012.

There is even a youtube channel: http://www.youtube.com/bannedbooksweek

The point is to celebrate books that people want to ban. This year that list includes:

  1. ttyl; ttfn; l8r, g8r (series), by Lauren Myracle
    Reasons: offensive language; religious viewpoint; sexually explicit; unsuited to age group
  2. The Color of Earth (series), by Kim Dong Hwa
    Reasons: nudity; sex education; sexually explicit; unsuited to age group
  3. The Hunger Games trilogy, by Suzanne Collins
    Reasons: anti-ethnic; anti-family; insensitivity; offensive language; occult/satanic; violence
  4. My Mom’s Having A Baby! A Kid’s Month-by-Month Guide to Pregnancy, by Dori Hillestad Butler
    Reasons: nudity; sex education; sexually explicit; unsuited to age group
  5. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, by Sherman Alexie
    Reasons: offensive language; racism; religious viewpoint; sexually explicit; unsuited to age group
  6. Alice (series), by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
    Reasons: nudity; offensive language; religious viewpoint
  7. Brave New World, by Aldous Huxley
    Reasons: insensitivity; nudity; racism; religious viewpoint; sexually explicit
  8. What My Mother Doesn’t Know, by Sonya Sones
    Reasons: nudity; offensive language; sexually explicit
  9. Gossip Girl (series), by Cecily Von Ziegesar
    Reasons: drugs; offensive language; sexually explicit
  10. To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee
    Reasons: offensive language; racism

The Hunger Games, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, Brave New World and What My Mother Doesn’t Know appear on last year’s list, too. I suppose people felt threatened by them two years running.

I have only read Brave New World and The Hunger Games. For Hunger Games, the only reason I can understand is violence. The other reasons – anti-ethnic; anti-family; insensitivity; offensive language; occult/satanic – baffle me. Occult? Satanic? I must have missed the occult and the satanic. Offensive language? I don’t remember any. At least not a lot. Anti-ethnic, anti-family, insensitivity? I am baffled.

Also, as an aside, last year Hunger Games was challenged for: sexually explicit, unsuited to age group, and violence. Sexually explicit and unsuited to age group are no longer on the reasons list. I wonder if people suddenly decided it is suited to the age group? A little confusing . . .

People want to challenge Brave New World because of insensitivity, nudity, racism, religious viewpoint and sexually explicit. There is probably a certain amount of nudity in the book and I remember sex, too . . . but that’s doesn’t explain why people have banned it! If that was enough, the whole romance genre would be banned. And as for the others – insensitivity, racism, religious viewpoint – I don’t understand them at all.

The plan was to read a banned book this week, but I don’t know which. Truthfully, none of these books appeal. Anyway. Maybe To Kill a Mockingbird. It’s a classic; I should probably read it at some point.

11 thoughts on “Banned Books Week 2012

  1. I love the idea to celebrate books people want to ban. Censorship is dangerous, and there are some great books included in this whacked out list. “To Kill a Mockingbird” is a classic and it deals with some harsh realities of that time period. Banning a book doesn’t change the way things were or are. The world is a harsh and beautiful place, and people have to accept the good, bad, and ugly if they want to live in reality. Anyway, off my soapbox. đŸ˜‰

  2. Some of these books I have not heard of, and therefore don’t want to state an opinion on, but the books I have heard of (Hunger Games, Brave New World, To Kill a Mockingbird) baffle me as to why people would want them banned.

    The list you’ve posted startles me more for the reasons listed under each book, they seem so out-of-place for the books I do recognize, and I imagine they are also off for the ones I don’t. Overall the most disappointing thing I see on this list is the reason “sex education” listed on a few of them. Is it true that sex education is now considered a bad thing? Oo

    Another thing that just doesn’t make sense, “unsuited to age group” what? What? Every book has ages it is or isn’t suited for, having something “unsuited to age group” as a reason to ban it just doesn’t make any sense to me. Just why?

  3. I suspect people are threatened by those books. (Why else would you ban them? LOL)

    And according to the National Conference of State Legislatures, only 21 states require sex ed, so I suspect lots of people consider it a bad thing: http://www.ncsl.org/issues-research/health/state-policies-on-sex-education-in-schools.aspx

    LOL Not suited to the specific age group it is aimed at. The ttyl; ttfn; l8r, g8r series is YA. I heard it has the main characters commuting sexual acts, which people object to. I don’t know about the others.

    1. Wow…to think how advanced and how backwards the US is at the same time (the sex ed thing)…

      Ah, talking about target audience, now it makes a little more sense, but at the same time they have us read Brave New World in high school (at least where I went) and that book practically is nothing but sex scene after sex scene. I doubt ttyl; ttfn; l8r, g8r could be worse. xD

      (On a random sidenote, typing the name of that series is one of the hardest to type things I’ve ever typed, I guess it shows I’m not texting person.)

      1. I read Brave New World last year, it wasn’t part of the assigned readings in highs school. Just as well. But I don’t know, from what I’ve heard about tyl; ttfn; l8r, g8r, the sex is a lot more explicit and more done to please the boy.

        LOL Just copy and paste tyl; ttfn; l8r, g8r.

        1. Hmm, well I did go to a weird high school… xD I’m guessing it’s more modern day + what you said, so yeah, I can see how people would to ban that, but I choose not to have an opinion (which basically means let it stay, which basically means I’m choosing a side anyhow xD).

          Yeah…but I didn’t want to reach all the way over (it’s a whole foot away!) to my mouse to go select it… xD I’m just weird like that.

Say something and make my day!

