General

Friday Flash: Trapped

A new friday flash! This one is 169 words. It was inspired by this photo at wiki commons.

Daybreak turned the sky a beautiful, harsh orange. The bright color hurt her eyes and she slipped the special dark goggles over her eyes.

Why had he come here? Even for a hunter such as her brother, survival would be difficult here. Too much sun. No red lakes to feed on. No decent winds to ride.

A sharp roar tore through the air. She whirled around, saw the all surface truck rise through the air. She ran; her bodyguard sprinted ahead and shot at it. But it rose too fast and was soon too far away to even see.

The truck left behind a small pile of dirt. A small furry animal poked its head out of the ground.

She raised her weapon and shot it. It was a neat shot; only a little bit of blood stained the ground. She picked it, put her mouth to the wound and sucked out its sweet red blood.

“We’ll find more,” she said to the guard. “We’ll rebuild and take revenge.”

30 thoughts on “Friday Flash: Trapped

  1. Nice visual writing. One line did jar me though and it may just be me ‘The bright color hurt her eyes and she slipped the special dark goggles over her eyes.’ I wonder if it would read better as ‘The bright color hurt her eyes and she slipped on the special dark goggles to protect them.’

  2. Loved the way this sucked me in. I did have some trouble with the visual perspectives — how big are they? And did that truck actually fly away? They seem like vampires in a way, but not all the way. Uh-oh, I think you have another longer story here! 😉

  3. Nice. And I am late because I opened this and went to bed and then finally found it now before going to bed. xD I really like the way you make a whole world pop into my head with few words, and so what if it might not be accurate? It’s awesome, although I wish for more to see more to know more.

Say something and make my day!

