General

Reading Kiss the Dead by Laurell K. Hamilton

So I am reading the latest Anita Blake book: Kiss the Dead. (Also, I am really disgusted by the mental picture I get of Anita smooching a corpse.)

I started Kiss the Dead only yesterday, but it looks promising. A baby vampire gets the better of her in the first few pages. Amusing, since she usually kicks master vampire ass. Sometimes seduces them, too.

Anyway, there is one thing she repeats over and over: I am small and tough.

As if I had not read the same thing a few paragraphs up, a few pages back and in every single book that came before this one. Over and over and over. I am small and tough, small and tough, small and tough, small and tough . . . .

But anyway. My irritation isn’t enough to keep me from reading this new Anita Blake book, too. In fact, it looks more promising than previous books. I. E. she fights the baby vampire to the ground instead of seducing him into submission.

Not that this cover image exactly pushes the idea of the kick-ass vampire hunter. It’s looks more damsel in distress to me, but maybe that’s not Anita? I am not sure.

This line made me laugh:

Jesus, some people don’t enough balls to be undead.

As if balls are a prerequisite for being undead.

No sign of Olaf yet, but I am hopeful. Full review next week, when I am done.

8 thoughts on “Reading Kiss the Dead by Laurell K. Hamilton

  1. The whole corpse thing sounded creepy, but now I understand the story, after your mention of the vampire element. I agree, that quote is funny and could also be perceived in so many ways outside of the book. Like, many people are afraid of dying, despite the fact that everyone knows that it’s an unavoidable cycle of life since humans are mortals, yet, people try their best to prevent the inevitable but doing things such as trying to trick biology to make themselves appear like they aren’t aging or making wild decisions like they will live forever…that fear shows that they “don’t have enough balls…” or at least, that’s one way to look at it, lol.

  2. people have a very annoying habit of using the same phrase far to often. That Blake does it too only makes her more real

Say something and make my day!

