General · reading

Conclusion of BookExpo America

I didn’t get the only book I wanted from the BEA today. The signing was from 11 to 12 instead 1 to 2, like I thought. Silly me. Could have sworn it started at 1.

The book was After: Nineteen Stories of Apocalypse and Dystopia, edited by Ellen Datlow. I really like the anthologies she edits.

I did get a lot of others. I’ve already given away some and I expect I will give more away before I am done. I am only actually interested in keeping a handful.

Out of all them, the science fiction football book looks the most interesting. The writer sold a lot from his own website apparently, but I never heard of it before. The author sounded familiar, though, which is why I read the blurb and thought: this sounds good!!

I am hoping I have found a new writer to love.

I wish I’d been able to get more science fiction books. I really didn’t get any of the books I planned on getting, but you know what? I am not complaining. I am happy I got to go at all. I am really happy about the books I did get.

Especially Killing Moon by N. K. Jemisin, which was probably the highlight of BookExpo America 2012 for me.

6 thoughts on “Conclusion of BookExpo America

  1. Sorry you couldn’t get a copy of AFTER. The official BEA material had my schedule completely screwed up. I tweeted and posted in various places with the correct info a week before the event.

      1. Aha! That’s exactly what I was thinking of.

        Have you ever heard of podiobooks.com? He published it there first as an audiobook and then people loved it so much he was able to get physical copies printed and stuff (I don’t remember the exact story I heard about it).

        I was a big fan of the books on that site for a long time, but it’s been a while since I’ve been there.

        1. Never heard of it! I don’t listen to audio books. I find I can’t pay attention to the story itself if I listen instead of reading.

Say something and make my day!

