Writing

Rereading the WiP

So I came back to the WiP after not writing for a month. It was a good month, just not one meant for writing. Or blogging. Or reading, even. Well, I read more than I blogged or wrote, but even reading was minimal.

So I felt the urge to write again and opened up my file and I find I have forgotten details of my own story. Like, names. They include the names of various business and characters and so on.

Okay, yeah, the characters are minor and so are some of the business. But really!!! Does not remembering mean I should not have attempted to turn into something other than stock characters? I am not going to spend hours and hours on characters that only appear a handful of times, but that doesn’t mean they don’t get names and at least a few words of description. Does it?

Also, I didn’t expect to forget little details of the lives of the secondary characters. That’s even worse than forgetting the names of minor characters.

I realize now I have to reread the whole damn thing and resist the urge to edit while reading. I wasn’t expecting to have to do that. There are lots of pages. Thousands and thousands of words. It’s going to take a few days before I can actually start writing again.

4 thoughts on “Rereading the WiP

  1. Re-reading without editing. Must be the most difficult thing on earth for a writer to do. Good luck, I’ll be praying for you! Sorry your story isn’t fresh anymore, but I don’t think my minor characters have many details at all now that you’ve talked about how much you’ve forgotten about yours. Maybe I need to make them more like real people…

      1. I have a story ms back from an editor for the magazine that bought it, and I can’t even read all her crit without wanting to start right there making the changes. I don’t think I’ve read all the way through to the end of her comments yet.

Say something and make my day!

