word count · work in progress · Writing

End of NaNo

NaNo ended a few days ago.

I, sad to say, failed NaNo. Not that I am surprised. No, successfully completing NaNo would have surprised me. It’s not just that I am a slow writer (though I am. Very very slow.) It’s just been that kind of month.

But I still managed to write 22000 words. Most of that was in the first week. 10000 words in the first week, yeah, and if I’d managed to continue at that rate, I would have 40000 words by the end of November. For a number of reasons, that didn’t happen.

But 22000 is still well above my monthly average and I am not really displeased with that number. It’s just that now I realize if things are going well, if I push myself, sometimes I can manage 2000 words in a day. Even when things are not going well, I can write a couple hundred and before I thought 300 was my average.

That’s pretty amazing. See, before, the best I did was a 1000 words a day. Even that was rare. So it’s pretty amazing to realize I can do more and the words that come out aren’t half bad.

I am hoping I can finish the WiP sometime this year. At the very least before winter ends.

3 thoughts on “End of NaNo

  1. That’s not a shabby outcome. At least you tried and you made way more words that I would have!

  2. Not too bad–at least you’re off to a good start on a novel. I didn’t even hit 2000 words. I got a late start and had too many other things to think about this year. At least I have the start of an idea than might be good.

    Lee
    Wrote By Rote

  3. You didn’t fail! You produced 22,000 words in a month and learned something about writing and yourself. And no doubt about life in general too.

Say something and make my day!

