fantasy · reading

How I Fell in Love with Dragons

I love dragons. They remain my favorite fantasy creatures.

I don’t remember where I first encountered dragons. It could be on TV or in books. In fact, it was probably TV, because I wasn’t the biggest reader when I was 5. Or 6. Or 7. Or even 8. LOL

But I know the first time I read The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley, that was when I fell in love with dragons. I read the story over and over and over again in 6th grade. It was different somehow. Dragons were different.

I don’t think I’d ever seen them as medium-sized pests before. They’d always been huge menacing beasts in my head. And, yeah, there is a big dragon in the book. But the little ones came first and that made all the difference.

The big one was pretty magnificent, too. But more normal, you know? More what I pictured when someone said dragon.

That same year I discovered the Enchanted Forest Chronicles by  Patricia C. Wrede and it turned every princess story I’d ever watched on its head. I never imagined dragons could be like that!

A couple of years later (when I had my adult library card) I found the Pern books. I’d never seen dragons like that, either. They could talk, they needed to chew something to make fire and they could travel back in time. You could fly on the dragon! They were genetically engineered, but that was a minor detail.

I wanted to fly on my own dragon. I read the dragon rider books and dreamed of what it would be like to ride my own dragon.

Writing is the closest I’ve ever come to that feeling. If that makes sense. Maybe it doesn’t; dragons aren’t real after all.

2 thoughts on “How I Fell in Love with Dragons

  1. What do you mean, NOT real? 😉

    I loved the Pern books (at least the first few) when I was younger. Do you think any of your recommendations here would be as good when reading as an adult? I’d love a new fantasy series to try.

  2. The Hero and the Crown? Possibly. I mean, I still enjoy the odd reread. The Enchanted Forest series? I don’t know. I think it’s a bit more juvenile the Hero and the Crown. I don’t know, as I haven’t read them in a long time.

Say something and make my day!

