Writing

Out-of-Control Stories

I was not in control of my stories this past week. I mean, if the characters are good, they lead the way, but I still manage to keep some small bit of control.

I started the friday flash – a piece involving a dragon and a village – and I thought it was going to be fantasy, a fairly traditional sword and sorcery stuff.

It turned out be erotica. Kinky erotica at that! It took me only about 200 words to realize where it was going.

I knew I couldn’t post it here. This blog is entirely too public a place for anything so explicit. Especially since I don’t provide one of those warnings: go forward only if you are over 18. Anyway, I think something as explicit as that story was going to get, it might be against WordPress’ terms of use. Not sure though.

Anyway, it would be useless for Friday flash. So I stopped work on it.

Think I will probably finish it (because I love love dragons!) But no ideas on what I will actually do with it. It might languish in my files. Not going to finish it, black out 3/4 of it and post that, even though that would be pretty funny. (Sorry, John.)

On the weekend, I started another short story. Using pen and paper, mind, because the computer was in pieces (literally, in pieces, the monitor here, keyboard over there, actual computer elsewhere).

4 pages in, I realized it was an outline for a novel, not a short story. How did I know? Well, the sheer amount of scenes I would need to explain everything was a clue. There were a couple of lines that would likely need a hundred pages to fully explain. Instead of 4 pages, I would end up with 400 pages.

I really, really do not need ideas for another novel. I got enough on my plate. There is the urban fantasy novel in progress, and bits of planning for a second, more traditional fantasy one. A third one would kill me.

I didn’t throw away the pages, but I am wondering if that happens to other people. Do you get jumped by stories you really don’t have time to write?

10 thoughts on “Out-of-Control Stories

  1. I always get attacked by stories. They just ambush me out of nowhere with little snippets of dialogue or just scenes playing through me head. So I usually write down whatever I know about the shiny new story and store it in a file somewhere and then try to continue with the story I was trying to focus on when the new story appeared. Although sometimes the new story does hijack my focus…

  2. Yes, I have new ideas for stories all the time. Sometimes the MC float around in my head for awhile, then one day their entire comes to me. I usually write a few pages down for future reference and pray someday I’ll be able to get back to them all.

  3. Oh, you too?!! Yes! When they stay around for a while, that’s how I know the character is strong. đŸ˜‰ Me too. But I don’t there is enough time in the whole world. Need to pick and choose what I work on.

  4. I do–I end up writing most of a story that seems totally different than anything I’ve written before, then coming back to it and having no idea how to finish it. It’s great, and I hate it.

  5. Yes, that happens to me and am so glad to find it does to others. I start writing one thing and end up with a completley different story than what I thought I’d have. Or, get great ideas and NO time to write them down – then they are gone. And, my son prefers to write with pen and paper, then type it up. I find that my writing on paper is different from that with a keyboard, even in my Journal – weird, huh?

  6. I have 4 stories which I dabble with and my main story. The newest began when I wrote down a dream that I’d written down years ago, but had become lost. I started writing and continued writing for three days. I had breaks ofcourse, but I wrote 10k of a novel I hadn’t planned to write at all!

    Usually I write down the ideas and file them into the Novels folder. If I feel a sudden surge of inspiration towards a story I write a little and then return to my main story with he hopes that the inspiration will move on to my main story.

Say something and make my day!

