General

Netflix and Drop Dead Diva

drop_dead_diva_thumb
Image by Cristal Filgueiras Bittencourt via Flickr

A couple months back, I discovered Drop Dead Diva. I was browsing shows similar to Dead Like Me (a really, really good show whose life was cut tragically short) and Netflix recommended Drop Dead Diva.

It’s really good! It’s about a model who was killed when she was in a car accident while talking and driving. Instead of going streight to heaven, she ends up in an office where someone evaluates her life. She presses a button and gets sent back to earth. That would be good, except she ends up in the body of a plus-size lawyer. The plus-size lawyer is everything she isn’t.

At first, I was skeptical, but it’s a lot better than it sounds. Also, except for Glee, I didn’t know there were any musical type TV shows.

Netflix has only the first season for streaming. The last episode ended with her finding out that her host body has a husband.

I really want to watch the second season, but Netflix doesn’t have the second season for streaming.

The show is currently in its third season and I am not sure I want to watch it because I haven’t seen the second season. According to the ads, in the third season the model’s ex (who is a junior associate with the host body’s law firm) is getting married and she, the model, is his best man. Yeah, I really want to know what happens there.

But Netflix does not stream the second season of Drop Dead Diva. I think this is the show’s way of giving away a sample to suck you in. Well, it’s working.

I think a lot of shows are doing this. Letting Netflix stream their stuff in a limited way to get viewers.

6 thoughts on “Netflix and Drop Dead Diva

  1. UGH! I SO know what you mean. Last summer I couldn’t watch the second season, and now…nothing! Not on Netflix, HuluPlus, etc. I would seriously consider biting the bullet and getting it from itunes or amazon instant…but I’m afraid I’m waaay too cheap for that (plus I’m not a fan of other sketchy “free” sites…). I guess I just have to go the old fashioned route and actually order the DVDs from Netflix. BOOO! 😦

  2. LOL You making fun of me?

    I can’t add them to the dvd queue. Well, I could, but there are already like a million dvds on it and the second season would take a year to get.

  3. Hmm, I didn’t intend to…but sure! 😉 No, seriously, my top few spots in the Netflix que are a site of constant battle – Big Bang Theory or Drop Dead Diva…or Bones? or maybe that weird French movie I’d feel so cool for watching? In the end, I usually receive a movie I don’t want to watch that I accidentally placed at the top of my que, anyway (currently, it’s Lawrence of Arabia).

    1. Good! That is, it’s good to know weren’t making fun of me.

      I know, mine are like that too. Except mine fight with bollywood movies, tv shows and hollywood movies.

  4. I’ve watched dropdeaddiva from season 1 to 3 at Netflix I finished watching it for 3 nights after work, now I’m waiting for Netflix to release season 4 my friend says season 4 was great too, and I hope there’s season 5!

  5. Season 6 premieres tonight and I am waiting for season 5 on Netflix! Jane, the REAL Jane, just hit the button herself and went back! It’s crazy! I can pay $1.99 an episode and watch on YouTube, I am sorely tempted! Got hooked on this show when a friend of a friend (Trevor Donovan) was on an episode (Season 5, ep 8), I watched and it was so good, but SO confusing having never watched before! I am in love with it now! 🙂

Say something and make my day!

