reading · science fiction

Ender’s Game and Blogging

I was thinking of online newspapers and blogging and social networks and how they rarely appear in old science fiction. And than I realized: Ender’s Game has all that.

Oh, I am not sure it has social networking (i.e. facebook, twitter) but I am pretty sure it has blogging, online newspapers and online forums. Come to think of it, forums  and chat rooms are a form of social networks, aren’t they? So maybe it does have social networks.

Remember, when Ender’s sister and brother (the ones who were passed over for special schooling!) they wrote posts and articles to incite the public. Opposing posts, so that when one gave in, the other would look so much more reasonable.  For free at first (I think on their very own blog) but later for money.

Someone conceived of blogs whenever Ender’s Game was first published. I was postively stunned!

Now I have to find another copy of it to reread and see if I am right.

4 thoughts on “Ender’s Game and Blogging

  1. I found their manipulation of the world incredibly contrived. They don’t really overtake world politics by ingenuity; they do it because Orson Scott Card treats his small cast to be more important than the rest of the universe.

    Now if he’d really had a handle on Blogs, Ender wouldn’t have been such a shut-in. He would’ve had the angstiest little Twitter feed ever.

  2. Ha, yes, I did think that Ender’s siblings doing what they did politically was a little, um, a little improbable. But they still did it through online articles and what not.

    Ender was isolated from the rest of the world anyway. He only ever really saw the other little soldiers he trained with. He managed to short circuit his study desk, but if I remember right, he never really looked out what the rest of the world was doing.

  3. John’s comment made me smile. He’s right of course, but I hadn’t thought of it that way.

    You’re right too–there are all those things in Ender’s game. I guess they were in some way inevitable.

Say something and make my day!

