fantasy · Writing

Hang-Ups On Writing Sex

I want to submit something to this anthology on gay modern-day fairy tales. Only when I read the submission rules, I saw whatever I submit must have sex.

I know, I know, the novel in progress is urban fantasy, but I managed to avoid plot points that leave me no choice but to write a sex scene. Mostly because the MC is in love with someone who is too pissed with him to have sex. Also because the story doesn’t actually have anything to do with sex.

Point is, I have never written a sex scene before and I haven’t a clue where to begin. Especially gay sex. I mean, I am a girl and I am straight. My entire knowledge of gay sex comes from gay romances. They may not be the best source of info.

Thing is, I really like the idea of retelling a fairy tell in modern terms.

I figure I’ll keep a nice level of sexual tension going throughout the whole story and actually let them have sex once or twice. It’s going to be around 5000 words – there isn’t much room for lots of sex scenes anyway. And foreplay is the best part of sex, right? Well, they are guys, so maybe not . . . But foreplay will keep the story pretty sexual even they are not having sex. Kissing, touching, flirting.

It’s just – how do you write a sex scene?

Anybody got any advice?

7 thoughts on “Hang-Ups On Writing Sex

  1. I wrote a sexual story in high school and my parents found it and totally flipped out. Since then I haven’t written sexual scenes. I think that whole thing altered me in some strange way. Besides that I think whether your gay or not the intense feelings are there; the touch of the skin, the look that makes your heart rush. Write what flows naturally without editing or reworking. Then go back and reshape it.

  2. I’d question submitting to the anthology if you didn’t have an idea you loved. Not only do you have to crowbar the present into somebody else’s classic story, but you also have to dump sex into it? Why not simply write your own original story at that point? I guess because it’s more marketable to gank an existing I.P.

    As far as how you write a sex scene – you do it well. There are very few writers who make sex worth reading. James Clavell does a great job writing them as all-dialogue scenes, and Stephen King has had a couple of younger sex scenes showing how the event doesn’t match popular media expectations. Rather than trying to write something hot, write about sex in a way that isn’t done and is worth doing. Unless the anthology is just smut, in which case… well, I’m not your guy.

    1. I do like the idea I came up with. It’s a fairytale only in the metaphorical sense . . . think that will enough. I mean, on the website, as an example, they said a castle could be a condo, so . . .

      Don’t think it is just smut! But sex seems to be a requirement and that’s where I expect to get into trouble. Well, I’ll see how it works out.

  3. What an interesting problem. I’m afraid I don’t have much advice to offer. I do write sex scenes, although they aren’t usually explicit. I let the characters guide me through it for the most part. Especially important is to remember the PoV character and what they would think and feel about what’s going on. What about the situation is important to them? If it’s just the sensual touching there really is no reason to go beyond that. You don’t have to explain every detail. Not sure if that helps at all, but that’s all I got. 🙂

    I wish I had an idea for a gay fairy tale…

    1. Thanks for the comment! I appreciate any and all advice! LOL Yeah, you are right, it would be best if I can deeply enough into the POV for the sex to flow from that. And right now, I am not sure what they want most from the sex.

Say something and make my day!

