General · reading

Played With the Nook Color

Yesterday at Best Buy, I played with the Nook Color. It was pretty easy to use and light in my hands. I suspect I could curl up in bed with it quite comfortably.

There were separate screens for the books and the apps. The floor model had a children’s picture book on it, which is pretty interesting. But, personally, it is hard to imagine letting a 5-year-old play with a device worth a couple hundred dollars. What if they drop it?

The colors are pretty good, though. The magazine (National Geographic) is fantastic. Navigating was easy and the pictures were good. I really liked the magazines.They had previews of some normal, pictureless books, too, that looked good.

The apps were more interesting than I thought they would be. I know it is based on Android, but I wasn’t expecting Pandora (an online radio, in case anyone is wondering) to be on the Nook Color. The Nook Color’s wi-fi wasn’t working right or I would have explored what other apps are available. Since it is basically an Android tablet, I expect there are quite a few apps.

If I didn’t already have a Kindle, the Nook Color would look very, very good.

2 thoughts on “Played With the Nook Color

  1. I was interested in the nook colour, too. I thought the same thing as you: this would be great for kids, if it was indestructible. It isn’t, yet. 🙂

Say something and make my day!

