reading

Switch Reads in Mid-Book

Do you stop in the middle of one book to read another?

I did that today. Magic Slays pulled me away from City of Bones in mid-book. I would be embarrassed, except I do this a lot. New, shiny titles pull me away from older, half-read books all the damn time.

Maybe I have a really short attention span, I don’t know. I should really finish a book before going on to the next. It’s just when I see a title I’ve been looking forward to for months, it’s hard to resist.

I go back to the book I abandoned, of course. Eventually. Sometimes.  I will finish reading City of Bones (it’s too interesting to not finish)!  That is, I will go back to it after I am done with Kiss of Snow and possibly The Love of a Mate by Kim Dare.  But City of Bones is the first book in a new series and it’s going to take a backseat to series I’ve been following for a long time.

Do you switch to a new, shiny title in mid-book?

6 thoughts on “Switch Reads in Mid-Book

  1. Yes, unfortunately I do this…a lot! I feel guilty for doing it too, because usually the book I put down was something I really, really wanted and I get mad at myself for not staying on track. If something extra special catches my eye, or a book I was waiting for is released, I will switch off but always go back to the other book later on. Rae

  2. Yes I switch books while in the middle of them sometimes. It’s mostly because I can’t seem to concentrate on it while the brand new shiny book is staring at me practically shouting “COME READ ME – NOW!!” So rather than torture myself by reading really slow because I keep looking at the new shiny book – I just switch books and usually have intentions of coming back to the book I just left in the middle of.

  3. I do this all the time, and then find myself in the middle of four or five books… I never learn though.

Say something and make my day!

