reading · Teaser Tuesdays

Teaser Tuesday: City of Bones

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser:

The door blew outward, knocking her off her feet. She skidded across the hallway floor and slammed into the wall, rolling onto her stomach. There was a dull roaring in her ears as she pulled herself up to her knees.

– City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

35 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday: City of Bones

  1. Great teaser! I am really curious about what is behind that door (and why it’s so powerful). Hope you’re enjoying this read!

    Thanks for visiting my blog today!

  2. I’ve read this book and the sequence, but not the third in the trilogy. I’ve heard Cassandra Claire was writing (or has just launched) a prequel in steampunk genre.

    Although she writes quite well, I don’t like that her characters are always the same. I know this because I’ve read an amazing Harry Potter fanfic of hers, and she even copied a scene/conflict from her own work. Sad.

    1. I don’t know if she has, but if has, I will probably read it.

      Really? I am amazed . . . though if it is her own fanfic, I guess she could copy it if she wants.

      1. I don’t know Sonia. I would expect an author to innovate at each work. She did something very ugly that is called self-plagiarism. Do you remember the bird that was killed by one of the MC’s father? C’mon. Besides, her Harry, Hermione and Draco are also her trilogy’s MCs. She didn’t change a thing!

  3. Hope your enjoying this one. I’ve read these so I know what’s going on here but it sure makes a great teaser! Thanks for sharing.

Say something and make my day!

