reading · Teaser Tuesdays

Teaser Tuesday: Hex Hall

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading.Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser is two really long sentences. I think this is one of the few times I actually have two sentences instead of 3 or 4.

The purpose of Hecate Hall is to protect and instruct shapeshifter, witch, and fae children who have risked exposure of their abilities, and  therefore imperiled society as a whole.

“I still don’t see how helping one girl find a date imperiled other witches,” I said, squinting at my mom as we reached into the trunk for my stuff.

– Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

46 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday: Hex Hall

  1. LOVED HEX HALL!! It is awesome – and Demonglass was even better than it. Hope you love Hex Hall too!

    Thanks for commenting on my blog! I still think that Lucas was warning her and not threatening…I don’t know why I just do.

      1. I know it’s hard to believe but you will believe it when you read Demonglass.

        And I guess you’re right. Cuz the main character of Born at Midnight took it as a threat – and I’m sitting there and thinking it doesn’t seem like a threat…but I guess it can be interpreted either way.

      2. Maybe. I tend to do that – see things the characters don’t see…and shout at the characters for not seeing something at seems so obvious to me.

      3. I haven’t done that with movies…yet. Although with murder/mystery shows/movies I’m usually right about who the killer is when I guess somewhere in the beginning.

      4. sometimes the killer is obvious in the beginning! usually on cop shows, but not as much with movies. and sometimes when the hero(s) goes into a dark place or separate, I am like, idiot, you know something is going to jump out at you.

        oh thanks for the follow! I am subscribed to your blog too on google reader.

      5. awesome – thanks! and i’m usually right on either movies and tv shows…as for shouting at the tv that would be my little sister – she’s always shouting at the stupid people that are walking towards their doom.

      6. For me, predicting the murderer on movies is harder for some reason. Not sure why. I guess I am like your little sister that. LOL

      7. LOL – yeah sometimes I’m wrong, but usually that’s cuz I changed my guess part way through the movie. And my little sister’s shouting at the tv makes the scary parts a little less scary…cuz what she shouts is kinda funny.

      8. Yeah yelling at the TV can diffuse the tension. my brother and i do it all the time, talk to each other about what’s going on. And I am always changing my mind about the bad guy is! 😉

    1. I know! I think almost everyone who commented has already read this book. And I even found someone else who did a teaser tuesday today from this same book.

  2. I like the sound of this one. I just finished “River Marked” by Patricia Briggs that is also about a shapeshifter and the fae. Thanks for stopping by today.

Say something and make my day!

