Writing

Writing Recovery

After being away from my writing for over a week (because I was sick) I find I am having a hard time getting back to it. My rhythm is off, the words will not come and to make matters complete, I am still not completely recovered. The headaches, body-aches and a lack of energy continue. At least the fever and throwing up part seem to gone.

Music helps, gets me moving sometimes. The outline helps, lets me keep an eye on the ball. Rereading what I’ve written helps, letting me remember where I am.

Yesterday I think I only managed a 100 words. Physically, I just can’t write for more than an hour or two right now. By the end of the day, I am tired and my head spins like a top (like I was sick!). Hard to focus through the spinning. All I want to do is sleep. That’s probably part of the problem. But I also know if I stay away from it too long, I’ll stop entirely (that’s happened before – too long a break and I never go back.)

I have no idea what to do.

5 thoughts on “Writing Recovery

  1. I think you did the right thing by showing up. Your groove may be off, for now, but eventually the muse will realize when and where you are going to be writing and begin appearing. I hope this doesn’t come across rough, I’m trying to be encouraging;

    Pat yourself on the back for working today, and try not to get down on whether you produced a lot – you wrote today. Awesome. =)

  2. I also stayed away from my current project for about the same time. But the time I spent I way from it actually helped, so when I sat down to start writing this weekend, the words just flowed. I guess it’s because I spent that week mulling over this one scene I’d been dying to write.
    But hey, at least you’re writing! It’s better than not having written at all.
    =)

Say something and make my day!

