work in progress · Writing

Car Rides and In Between Scene Travel

This week, my MC exited a club and went someplace else in a van. I am not sure how important the van trip is (not very!) but I went right along with him. I mean, traveling from point A to point B isn’t usually that important. Point A and Point B are important. Not unless something happens between them and I didn’t think anything was going to happen.

In the last version, I skipped this scene. Not because it didn’t happen, but because by the time it did, he was home with his lover. Now the lover is not there anymore, so he may as well stay for everything.

I pictured a windowless van, a silent MC, a few tied up prisoners.  At first I wasn’t even sure what the point of writing that scene was. I wasn’t sure if I should skip it or bring the girl along or what. There isn’t a lot they can say during the trip (what does anyone say in front people they just took captive?)

But than, I realized, they would probably be trying to frighten the prisoners. Joking and talking amongst themselves, teasing, scaring the bad people right out of their minds. 😉 As a side effect, I think it would also show how good friends they are.

So I found a couple of reasons to write the scene, and a way to make it interesting for me to write it, too. All scenes should be like this.

2 thoughts on “Car Rides and In Between Scene Travel

  1. “Travel” scenes can be quite helpful. It sometimes allows you to get information – in the form of a conversation or a character’s thoughts – in that you have a hard time fitting in elsewhere. After all, what else do you do when you walk/drive/fly from A to B.
    Also, the behaviour of characters during a trip (constantly looking over their shoulder/completely careless/etc) can tell a lot about them.
    Just these past weeks I did that twice – using one scene to establish how secretive a group of people is about their “camp”, using the other to let one character give another character (and the reader) some “historical” background as they walked and talked.
    So as long as you don’t extend a trip that is otherwise not important by describing every turn the characters take, take advantage of the possibilities.

Say something and make my day!

