work in progress · Writing

Difficulty Finishing My Short Story

This drawing (naturally, I found it on deviantart) is by an artist who says of it, “When I can’t write . . . I feel like I’m falling down a deep pit and won’t ever be able to get out.”

This is how I feel right now.

I am having a hard time finishing my short sea story. I don’t know why. I can see the end in my head, it will only be a couple hundred words more, yet I freeze when I stare at the screen. The screen isn’t even blank – most of the story is already written and staring me in the face! I am utterly frustrated with myself. What is wrong with me? I don’t know, but today, right now, by god, I promise myself I will write another 300 words today. Even if it is on scrap paper instead of my computer screen!!! So there.

Say something and make my day!

