Book Review

Indulgence in Death by JD Robb

First it was a limo driver shot through the neck with a crossbow. Then it was a high-priced escort found stabbed through the heart with a bayonet.

Random hits, thrill kills, murderers with a taste for the finer things in life-and death-are making NYPSD Lieutenant Eve Dallas angry. And an angry Eve can be just as an efficient and dangerous predator as the killer.

As time runs out on another innocent victim’s life, Eve’s investigation will take her into the rarefied circle that her husband, Roarke, travels in-and into the perverted heart of madness…

Indulgence in Death, the latest in the In Death series, came out yesterday. I gobbled it up like it was a rich gooey chocolate cake. Like every other In Death book, it is a good fast read. Indulgence in Death has its share of funny moments. Probably more than the other books. I don’t think it as intense as other books in the series.

Finding who the murderers are isn’t the point; we find out who the murderers are less than half way through and JD Robb hinted at their identity even earlier than that. No, I think the point was how Eve brought them to justice. The murderers are very good, almost perfect, and getting enough evidence for just a search warrant was difficult.

The way the murderers go about, well, murdering, that is a bit chilling. They come off as monsters and I think that is probably what the author is going for.

On the other hand, the book begins in Ireland. Eve gives him their two year anniversary present there – very romantic!!! – and they find a body nearby. I know the whole point was to give Roarke his present. A murder happens and I was expecting that murder to have something to do with the rest of the story. But it didn’t. I don’t know why that murder was there in the first place. The whole present giving scene was so romantic and perfect that I really don’t think it needed a murder to enliven it. I just don’t know why it was there. It seems superfluous.

For that reason, I have to say it wasn’t as good as the other books in this series. But still worth reading.


Say something and make my day!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s