Non-Review Way To Complain About A Book

So, yesterday, while looking for snippets of A Shiver of Light, I ran across the book’s Goodreads page. This is normal.

But than I discovered people had been putting commentary on the book’s page and they put where the reviews usually go. But they weren’t reviews, they were slamming/praising the series OR they were expressing their unhappiness because the book hadn’t been published yet.

It will be published tomorrow: Jun 3, 2014.

goodreads snapshot

I took this screenshot of the Goodreads’ page for A Shiver of Light. As you can see, there are 3000 comments. If this is the first comment, (I don’t know that it is, I didn’t sort it in any way), it showed up two years ago.

And the book’s not even published yet!

This comment talks about  a love for the series and a wish she would publish this book. Well, I also love the series and I wished she would publish it, instead of writing lots and lots of books in the other series. But it never occurred to me voice this in the review section of its Goodreads page. I mean, I thought that was for reviews only. But no.

If you look further up the screen, it says there are 42 reviews and 244 ratings. I took a screenshot.ashiverlightgoodreads

It’s not counting most of the 3000 comments as reviews, probably because most of them have no rating for the book – how could they? The book’s not out until tomorrow and I doubt there are a 1000 ARCs, let alone 3000.

So this is a good thing. It is a way to express some feeling involving the book, but is not actually a review.

Because, personally, I don’t really like the idea of using a book review to complain about prices and other things that don’t involve book’s story. Sometimes there is no other way, because the reviews on Amazon or wherever is the only way we got to complain to the publisher/author. But I don’t think it is a good way.

IMO, this is a better way to complain about something – prices, not being published soon enough, etc. What do you think? Would you do it?

5 thoughts on “Non-Review Way To Complain About A Book

  1. Lol. If I want to complain about a book, I have plenty of friends. Unless the book is really bad and readers need to know, it is usually just my opinion. We all have different likes and dislikes.

  2. I find that Laurell K. Hamilton is subject to a lot of this, because people either really love or really hate her work. I don’t like it when people complain about a book that they haven’t even read yet. It makes it harder to find the real reviews.

  3. I wouldn’t do this sort of thing since I barely seem to have time to do what I do. I guess on the positive side that the chatter whether it be good or bad gets the author and her books recognition and I think that’s better than no one noticing at all.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  4. Agree with Lee. I wouldn’t do it, but I agree that the author may not be totally unhappy with this– it does build publicity around the book.

Say something. Go on.

