Books I Wish Had a Sequel

Have you ever read a book and wanted more? It ends, but you don’t want to leave the characters?

I’ve had this feeling a few times. I want to know more, about the characters, about the world. The book has ended, but the character’s life is still going on and I want to know what further adventures they have.

I have had this feeling with a few books.

1) Carnival by Elizabeth Bear 

This is first book I read by Elizabeth Bear. It has a fine ending. The heroes get their happy-ever-after, after a fantastic adventure and the genuine possibility that one of them might not make it and the other would be left forever scarred by the loss. Well, they both make it. But I want to know what happens next. Is there a war or something? The next book doesn’t have to use the same main characters as this one, but it would be nice.

2) The Emperor’s Soul by Brandon Sanderson
Personally, I think Brandon Sanderson has a lot of space in this world to expand. Maybe with the main character, maybe not. But certainly he could expand on the emperor or one of the other minor characters. I think he should!

3) Trouble and Her Friends by Melissa Scott

This is the first book I read Melissa Scott and the first cyberpunk I ever read, too. It ends on a hopeful note. But the question I want answered: what happens next? Something must happen next. They get out of all that controversy and nothing happens? Do the characters find happiness? Maybe just a short story? I am not asking for a lot.

4) Sunshine by Robin McKinley

In all honesty, this book never felt finished to me. It really, really needs a sequel. It needs to be a series. Seriously.

24 thoughts on “Books I Wish Had a Sequel

    1. It’s a vampire book, where the main character draws strength from sunshine, and when she is kidnapped by vampires, is able to escape with a vampire they were holding captive as well because of this ability (it helped him withstand the sun).

  1. In some cases, the author intended a sequel but circumstances didn’t allow it. The publisher may have been disappointed with sales or the author’s editor could have changed mid-stream. With self-publishing, it’s possible some authors will take matters into their own hands and release a sequel on their own.

    1. I know that happens, but I know it’s not true for at least two: Carnival and Sunshine. The writer stated she’s isn’t going to write a sequel for Carnival and she wants to for Sunshine, but Robin McKinley doesn’t write sequels.

      The others? I don’t know. Could be true.

  2. Yes, there have been books I’ve wished had a sequel…and usually there was one. I can’t think of any offhand where there wasn’t a sequel, but should have been.

    Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

  3. There are many books that I wish went on longer or had a sequel, but then I think the story would be made weaker by extending it or starting with a new one where the first story leaves off.

    Lee
    Wrote By Rote

  4. I haven’t read any of these. :-(

    But the book I wish had a sequel is Gone With The Wind. I am aware about the sequels written by various other authors, but they all felt like fan-fiction.

  5. I really missed the characters from ‘Far Fr Away’. A Sequel wouldn’t have worked, but I just wanted to read more about them.

  6. I’ve been wanting to read several of these books, and there is something good to say about the books since you do want more. Perhaps one day they’ll get their sequels. :)

  7. Bear and Sanderson are great writers. I’d be happy to read any of their sequels! I didn’t enjoy Sunshine even though I like Robin McKinley – maybe, as you say, because it didn’t feel finished. Here’s to more good sequels! :)

  8. I haven’t read any of these, but it sounds like I may have to give Melissa Scott or Robin McKinley a try. Thanks for the suggestions.

    As far as sequel-wishing, I don’t recall having that feeling. I miss some characters, but I’ve been generally satisfied with the stories, including a few that leave some things open at the end.

Say something. Go on.

