Trying A Book Again

The font reminds me of Aladdin. Is that strange?

Earlier this year – I don’t remember exactly when – I tried to read Throne of the Crescent Moon by Saladin Ahmed.

I couldn’t get into it. I don’t remember exactly why. Just that I had a hard time reading it. This happens to me depressingly often. I can’t get into a book, I stop reading and weeks later I can’t remember why I stopped. I start again and the second time around the book is so good.

It happened with Under Heaven by Guy Gavriel Kay and Under Heaven was amazing the second time. I don’t know why I couldn’t get into the first time around. It happens with pretty much every China Mieville I’ve ever read. Everything by him takes a couple tries. It’s happened with the Throne of Games, too. Still haven’t managed to finish the first book. 

I am thinking I shouldn’t do this so many times. Why are some books so much better on the second try? It’s odd. Because it’s not like the book changed.

I am going to try Throne of the Crescent Moon again. This time, I am reading it with John Wiswell. We agreed on reading it in July weeks and weeks ago. (I don’t recall exactly when. May?)

I am hopeful Throne of the Crescent Moon will be fantastic on this second try. Well, it just won a Locus Award. It should be good.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Trying A Book Again

  1. Interesting! Maybe just a mood thing. I know I sometimes love a light romance because I just need a mental break, while at other times I would find that sort of book frustrating. I also try to let people know in my reviews when I push through a book, but feel my mood or personality might have made my experience with the book differently than someone else’s.

  2. Cool idea, reading in tandem!! I’ve gone back and read books I couldn’t finish first time around; some were still bad, others turned out to be better with a fresh perspective.

Say something. Go on.

