On Skipping Scenes When Reading

I’ve skip scenes when I read sometimes. I do this for several reasons: 

1)       Because I want so badly to find out what happens next I skip some of the intervening scenes and go to the result. (I usually go back and read the scene afterward.)

2)      The author switched the POV and I don’t like the new character and I want to find a scene with the character I like. (Sometimes I go back and read the scene afterward.)

3)      I am bored.

I skipped for this last reason last week and it’s bothering me now. It was one of the Percy Jackson books, the second or third one, I don’t remember now and I was thinking: Go one, let’s move on to something more exciting already.

I skipped pretty much the last half of the book and went straight to the end. Usually, if I am that bored, I abandon it entirely. I don’t know which is better. I don’t even know if I missed anything, but I don’t feel like I did. Not even I read the next book (which was a lot better, and one where I did no skipping.)

But I am still thinking about it, a day after I am done with all of the Percy Jackson books. It was a middle book and showed rather boring syndromes of the middle book. I am not actually tempted to go back and reread. I don’t even know why it’s still, still bothering me.

 

4 thoughts on “On Skipping Scenes When Reading

  1. There’s a very popular novel I’m reading right now that’s getting me to the point where I want to skip half the characters’ chapters. Really, there are only two characters I want to follow. It’s a real problem in this world of killing fictional beings for drama. It can wind up leaving so few worthwhile ones behind.

  2. Sometimes I skip because my heroine is in danger and I just have to know if she makes it!!

Say something. Go on.

