National Novel Writing Month 2012

I did National Novel Writing Month last year, but I didn’t finish until well after the New Year. I did write more daily than I thought possible, so it wasn’t a loss.

This year, with NaNoWriMo starting the day after tomorrow, I am om the fence about whether or not to do NaNoWriMo this year. Last year was an experience, but I am not sure it is one I want to repeat. I was on the fence even before Sandy arrived and destroyed transportation, likely adding lots more time to my daily commute. So I will probably have a lot less time than last year to do this. Also, large chunks of the city are without power . . . so yeah. Now I am even less sure.

Plus, it will mean taking time away from editing. That’s a positive thing, IMO. I could use time away from it. Editing sucks.

IF I do decide on participating National Novel Writing Month, I will probably write five 10,000 word stories. I have never written so much as one 10,000 word story before and read hardly any. So it won’t be easy. Short stories are their own little world, one I don’t usually gravitate to naturally, so it will be a challenge.

It’s still 50,000 words. ;) It means writing one story or 10,000 words every five days. Which, yeah, feels scary just thinking about it. Advice, thoughts, anyone?

I don’t actually have ideas for five long-ish short stories, but I imagine they will come. (Yes, pantster, me!)

6 thoughts on “National Novel Writing Month 2012

  1. I encourage you to write. Whether its five 10,000 word stories or ten 5,000 word stories, just write. This is my first year participating and I’m doing it pretty much knowing I will ‘fail’. But I have a new story idea and I hope NaNoWritMo will help me jumpstart the draft.

  2. I like the idea of doing 5 stories. I think I’m going to have a go at non fiction as per my post (thanks for linking to it!)… but I’m not expecting to reach 50k particularly. Have fun with yours, and good luck!

Say something. Go on.

