Brainstorming A Short Story

On Friday I did a drabble that I fell in love with. I want to expand and I decided to brainstorm.

My brainstorming went something like this:

I considered three things: looks, plot, character.

1) Looks: I’d already given it hands, so it couldn’t be an animal. I thought maybe a being that has no set shape, but changes shapes as it chooses. Or a people-shaped creature made of mist. Or, my personal favorite, something like a Chinese dragon that lives in the clouds. Not really sure yet.

2) Plot: In the drabble, the dijnn (that’s what I’m calling the creature) escapes the wizard, so obviously, the wizard has to capture the dijnn first. Maybe a trap, maybe for a rescue. The wizard needs a reasons to try and capture the dijnn and I’ve some ideas on what that might be.  Nothing solid yet though.

3) Character: I wrote something down about this, but I don’t really have any idea what the character will be like. I don’t know if the character will actually have those traits. Maybe, maybe not. I figure it’s best if I let the character develop organically.

None of this even considers the dijnn’s society, how they live in the clouds, what they might fight about, and that’s what I’m really, really curious about. Maybe my dijnn has an enemy who helps the wizard. Who knows? Not me! Which is damn sad, because this is my story. But I want to find out.

So now I got to ask . . . how do you brainstorm? Do you think about these same things?

3 thoughts on “Brainstorming A Short Story

  1. I brainstorm by writing out ideas on my huge white board in a similar way to the little pic you have in this post – except that it is brightly colored and there are little notes on the lines that are supposed to be pointing to something in a bubble. Then when I want to start a new brainstorming thing I take pics of the board before erasing it. I also have an app on my phone called “Idea Sketch” that I use when I’m not at home which does the same thing almost.

  2. That’s exactly what I need – a large white board. If only I had room. Idea Sketch sounds good – I will see if there something like that on mine.

Say something. Go on.

